9 Virginia Schools Recognized by Special Olympics as National Banner Schools

Congratulations to our National Banner Schools

We're incredibly proud to announce that nine Virginia schools have been named Special Olympics National Banner Unified Champion Schools

A Special Olympics Unified Champion School has an inclusive school climate. One that exhibits a sense of collaboration, engagement and respect for all. A Unified Champion School receiving national banner recognition is one that has demonstrated commitment to inclusion by meeting 10 national standards of excellence. These standards were developed by a national panel of leaders from Special Olympics and the education community.

The primary activities within these standards include: Special Olympics Unified Sports® (where students with and without disabilities train and compete as teammates), Inclusive Youth Leadership and Whole-School Engagement. Banner Unified Champion Schools are also able to demonstrate they are self-sustainable and have a plan in place to sustain these activities into the future.

We celebrate the 9 Virginia schools who have met the 10 standards of excellence and thank them for their dedication to inclusion!

SchoolGrade Level
Frost Middle School
Middle School
River City Middle School
Middle School
Forest Park High School
High School
Tuckahoe Middle School
Middle School
Loudoun Valley High School
High School
Huguenot High School
High School
Eunice Kennedy Shriver Program
 Secondary School
Woodley Hills Elementary School
Elementary School
Independence High School
High School

Among the school being nationally recognized is Tuckahoe Middle School. Elizabeth Murray, an educator at Tuckahoe Middle School, shared her excitement with the honor.

"Earning a UCS National Banner School Status is so exciting for us here at Tuckahoe Middle School, where our students, faculty, administrators, and staff strive to create and foster an inclusive school environment! I am so proud of the hard work put forth by our Helping Hands students, faculty and administrators."

Congratulations to each of the schools.